Skip to main content
Important FAFSA Update

Please click here to learn more about how we can support you.

Northwood University Honors 2014 Scholastic Achievement Winners

June 13, 2014

Earlier this spring, Northwood University students were honored for their scholastic achievements during school’s annual Honors Convocation.The students listed below received the following honors:

Benjamin Marsh, class of ‘14 from Midland, was named valedictorian and Zachary Zoellner, class of ‘14 Traverse City, was named salutatorian. Marsh, along with Madeline Vammer, class of ‘14 from Midland, received The Robert M. Ellis Award.

Stephanie Hentschel, class of ‘14 from Midland received The Arthur E. Turner Award (which is the top award presented to a graduate) as well as the William T. Anderson Award.

Nicholas Castanos, class of ‘14 from Grand Blanc received the Jeffrey A. Bennett Accounting Award; Amee Cox, class of ‘14 from Liverpool received the Outstanding International Student Award; and Shawn Mersino, class of ‘14 from Clarkston received the Management Award.

Anastasia Duell, class of ’14 from Ionia, received the R. Gary Stauffer Business Administration Award (the second highest award presented to a graduate). Duell was also presented with the Marketing Award and The Honors Leadership Award.

Valerie Anderson, class of ‘14 from Oxford, received the Charles DuBois Award; Charles Corcoran, class of ‘14 from Flint, received The Vada Bennett Dow Humanitarian Award and the Excel Award; Alix Gardner, a sophomore from ­­Goodrich, received the Edgar A. Madden Writing Award; Mercy Chepkemei Kirwa, a sophomore from Kenya, received the Dr. Catherine W. Chen Endowed Scholarship Award;Hans Schmidt, a senior from Wheaton, Ill., received the Willo Anker Award; Chelsea Shartle, class of ’14 from Adrian, received the received the Student Government Association Activities Award and the Town and Campus Leadership Award.

Ryan Terpstra, class of ‘14 from Grand Rapids received the G.D. Crain, Jr. Foundation Award; Cody Colella, class of ’14 from Missoula, Mo., received The Edward N. Cole Award; Adam Ricker, class of ‘14 from Frankfort, Ill. received the National Automobile Dealers Association Award. Justin Edgar, a senior from Rochester Hills, received The I.W. Thompson Automotive Award; Evan Skarbek, class of ‘14 from Standish, received the International Business Award; Chad McPhedrain, class of ‘14, from Lakeport, received the Entrepreneurship Award; Kristin Hammond, a junior from Alma, received the Entertainment, Sport & Promotion Management Award.

Nathan Steiner, class of ‘14 from Fraser, received The Zehnder’s of Frankenmuth Hospitality Award; Alex DeYoung, senior from Auburn Hills, received the Automotive Aftermarket Management Award; Adam Zanetti, senior from Lansing, received The Ludwig Von Mises Award; and Arielle Robbins, senior from Midland, received The Frederick T. Keeler Marketing Scholarship Award.

Stacey Klonowski, senior from Canton, received the Banking and Finance Award; Klonowski, along with Madison Pines (female category), class of ‘14 from Troy, and Jean Menard, class of ‘14 from France (male category), received the David and Daniel Goetz Academic Athlete Award; and David Valentine, class of ’14 from Detroit, received The Arts and Business Award.

Benjamin J. Kowalski, senior from Commerce Township, received the Institute of Management Accountants Award; Courtney Carr, class of ‘14 from Grand Blanc, and Shelby Ott, class of ‘14 from Byron Center, received the Fashion Marketing and Management Award;Kirk Longuski, a junior from Bay City and Cherell Granger, a junior from Petoskey, and, both received the Pi Kappa Delta Omicron Chapter Distinguished Competitive Speaker of the Year Award.

More From Northwood

Forge Your Path Forward