Skip to main content
Important FAFSA Update

Please click here to learn more about how we can support you.

About the Distinguished Women Award

The Distinguished Women Award is bestowed at a multi-day celebration held annually and never given in absentia. The honorees receive their award in the form of a unique bronze medallion at an evening gala.

In 1970, the Distinguished Women Award was created by the Northwood University Board of Trustees to honor the enormous contributions of women. The award is a recognition of excellence and dedication to support for women in the workforce. The recipients represent the values Northwood espouses for its own students: commitment to free enterprise, the partnership of arts and business, and the management of global commerce. The honorees serve as role models for Northwood University students.

This event creates an occasion to bring Northwood University to the attention of those who share a dedication to its principles of higher education. We encourage recipients to become involved with the University and its students, and to participate in the growth of the Women in Enterprise Fund.

Consistent with its non-discrimination policy, Northwood’s programs and awards, including the Distinguished Women Award, are open to all eligible persons, regardless of sex or any other characteristic protected by applicable law.

Thank You to Our 2023 Event Sponsors

  • Mary Ellen Hess, Distinguished Women ’23, ’80
  • Dow
  • My Michigan Health
  • SMI Snow Makers
  • Marguerittee Kuhn, MD

Dr. Mary-Ellen MacPhee

Dr. Kristin K. Stehouwer

  • Brenda Rowley, Distinguished Women ’15, MBA ’03
  • Dr. Cathy McCann-Kyte and Mr. Murray Kyte M.Ed., JD, BBA
  • Jennifer (Griffin) ’83 and Dr. Graham D. Williams
  • Marjorie H. Hohman, Distinguished Women ’85
  • Nancy Barker, Distinguished Women ’70
  • Rick Guirlinger, MBA ’11

2023 Event Highlights

Watch some of the greatest moments from our latest Distinguished Women Awards.

View The Past DW Honorees