Distinguished Women Award

About The Award

In 1970, the Northwood University Board of Trustees, under the inspiration of its founders Dr. Arthur E. Turner and Dr. R. Gary Stauffer, established the Distinguished Women’s Award to recognize the enormous contribution women make to communities, businesses, nonprofit organizations and public and private sector services worldwide. It is awarded annually and never in absentia. Each Distinguished Woman receives a medal that was originally designed by the late sculptor, Giulio Tamassy.

The honorees represent the values that Northwood espouses to its students: commitment to free enterprise, partnership of arts and business and management in a global society. They serve as role models and mentors for students.

DW Honorees Information

49th Annual Distinguished Women Awards Gala
Saturday, September 29, 2018

The event will be hosted at the Midland Country Club in Midland, Michigan. 

Please contact Ashleigh Summers, 989.837.4465 or with questions. To register or view event details, including online nominations, please visit

To learn more about the Award Gala, please click here.