Honorees Chosen for their Success in Business and Commitment to Philanthropy

(L-R) Mary Ann Thompson-Frenk of Dallas, Dr. Fegan, President of the Texas Campus; Patricia Chambers of Fort Worth, Texas and Harriet Miers of Dallas, Texas
(L-R) Yvonne Crum, 2001 DW Honoree and Dee Lincoln, 2008 DW Honoree

(L-R) Barbara Daseke, 2006 DW Honoree; The Honorable Dr. Donna Arp Weitzman, 2003 DW Honoree and Chair of the Northwood Texas Capital Campaign;  Terri Provencial, Publisher/ Editor in Chief at Patron Magazine and Leslie Ann Crozier, Chair of the 2013 DW Celebration Weekend Host Committee and 2006 DW Honoree 

CEDAR HILL, Texas – Northwood University continues its annual tradition of recognizing women for their contributions to their communities with the announcement of this year’s Class of Distinguished Women honorees.  On Wednesday, September 18, the Class of 2013 was announced at a media event hosted by Dee Lincoln, who was awarded this honor in 2008, at Dee Lincoln’s Dining Room & Bubble Bar in Uptown Dallas.  Created 44 years ago by the Northwood University Board of Trustees, the Distinguished Women’s Award honors women who reflect the values which Northwood espouses for its students: commitments to free enterprise, the partnership of arts and business, and the management of global commerce.

 Northwood University Distinguished Women Class of 2013 (full bios and photographs are available):

  • The Honorable Congresswoman Kay Granger from Fort Worth, Texas
  • Harriet Miers of Dallas, Texas
  • Mary Ann Thompson-Frenk of Dallas, Texas
  • Patricia Chambers of Fort Worth, Texas
  • Margaret Peale Everett of Sherman, Connecticut
  • Linda Orlans of Troy, Michigan
  • The Honorable Mayor Mary Roche of Indian Wells, California
  • Lorraine Schultz of Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

These extraordinary women were nominated for their success in business as well as their commitment to improving the world through their volunteer and philanthropic activities.

“Announcing the new class of Distinguished Women is an event we look forward to every year at Northwood University, and this year is no exception,” Northwood University Texas President Dr. Kevin Fegan said.  “We are honored to add this exceptional group of women into our community knowing they will inspire our students just as all previous DW honorees continue their role in this area.”

Also in attendance at the event was the 2013 Distinguished Women’s Host Committee chaired by Leslie Ann Crozier, DW ‘06.   Members of the Host Committee include:  Donna Arp Weitzman, DW ’03; Lee Bailey, DW ’05; Carol Ann Brown, DW ’85; Yvonne Crum, DW ’01; Barbara Daseke, DW ’06; Lynn Ferron, DW ’00; Charlene Lake,  DW ’12; Dee Lincoln, DW ’08; Lynn McBee, DW ’12; Catherine Eklund Mares, DW ’03; Cynthia Pasky, DW ’12; D’Andra Simmons, DW ’11.

The Distinguished Women’s program provides a platform for the next generation of women business leaders attending Northwood University through mentorship, leadership and scholarships.  The 2013-2014 Distinguished Women’s Endowed Scholarships will provide three female students from the three Northwood campuses with the opportunity to achieve their higher education goals.

The Distinguished Women’s award is bestowed at a two-day celebration which will be held October 25 and 26. Highlights of the Celebration Weekend include a Forum Luncheon on the Texas campus with previous Distinguished Women honorees as panel speakers; the Texas Board of Governors Mentoring Forum Sessions with the Class of 2013 Distinguished Women honorees and students; an Eggs & Economics breakfast session open to students and the local business and leadership community; and an evening gala where the 2013 Distinguished Women will receive their award in the form of a unique bronze medallion and citation.

Following the Celebration Weekend, the 2013 honorees will join fellow Distinguished Women from around the country, who together form an important and meaningful part of the Northwood University community through mentorship, internship, class presentations, speaking engagements, as well as providing financial support for the Distinguished Women’s annual scholarships. In the Dallas Fort Worth Metroplex, 48 women have received this honor and participate in fulfilling the mission of Northwood.   

For ticket information or to inquire about sponsorship for the Distinguished Women’s Gala on October 26th please contact Mary Frazier, Director of Advancement for Northwood University Texas at 972.293.5492 or email her at frazierm@northwood.edu.  


Northwood University is committed to the most personal attention to prepare students for success in their careers and in their communities; it promotes critical thinking skills, personal effectiveness, and the importance of ethics, individual freedom and responsibility.

Private, nonprofit, and accredited, Northwood University specializes in managerial and entrepreneurial education at three full-service, residential campuses located in southern Florida, mid-Michigan and northern Texas. Adult Degree Programs are available in seven states with many course delivery options including online. The DeVos Graduate School offers accelerated, evening and weekend programming in Michigan, Texas and Florida. The Alden B. Dow Center for Creativity and Enterprise provides system-wide expertise in family enterprise, entrepreneurship, creativity and innovation, and new business development. International education is offered through study abroad and in Program Centers in China (Changchun and Wuxi), Malaysia and Sri Lanka.