Northwood University Students Honored for Scholastic Achievements

Bookmark and Share
The students listed below received honors during the ceremony.
(l-r): BBA class salutatorian Nikita Setia and valedictorian Madison Pines.

(l-r): BBA class salutatorian Nikita Setia and valedictorian Madison Pines.

May 10, 2013

MIDLAND, MI – Northwood University students were honored for their scholastic achievements during the annual Honors Convocation on Sunday, May 5, 2013, in the Griswold Lecture Hall.

Dr. Kristin Stehouwer, executive vice president, chief academic officer and chief operating officer of Northwood University, gave the welcome and alumna and 2011 Vada Bennett Dow Humanitarian Award Recipient Kayla G. Swan gave the address. Amanda Swafford, assistant academic dean, served as Honors Convocation Chair.

Students listed below received honors during the ceremony:

Madison Pines, a senior from Troy, was named valedictorian and Nikita Setia, a senior from India, was named salutatorian. Madison Pines also received The Arthur E. Turner Award (which is the top award presented to a graduate) and the Jeffrey A. Bennett Accounting Award. Nikita Setia also received the Outstanding International Student Award and the Management Award.

Korbin Wahlstrom, a senior from Owosso, received the R. Gary Stauffer Business Administration Award (the second highest award presented to a graduate).

Laura Thomaswick, a senior from Toledo, OH, received the Charles DuBois Award; Eric Bischer, a senior from Harbor Beach, received The Vada Bennett Dow Humanitarian Award; Jonathon Gardner, a freshman from Saranac, received the Edgar A. Madden Writing Award; Talya Icel, a senior from Turkey, received the Dr. Catherine W. Chen Endowed Scholarship Award; Kendall Peruski, a senior from Saginaw, received the Willo Anker Award; Catherine Cangemi, a senior from Midland, received the Town and Campus Leadership Award.

Chelsea Todd, a senior from Gladwin, received the Excel Award; Kevin Kosinski, a senior from Bay City, received the G.D. Crain, Jr. Foundation Award; Hillary Downs, a senior from Coldwater, Ontario (Canada), received The Edward N. Cole Award; Nicholas Jackson, a senior from Mendota, IL, received the National Automobile Dealers Association Award. Adam LaFurgey, a senior from Grand Rapids, received The I.W. Thompson Automotive Award; Rochelle Geeck, a senior from Coleman, received the International Business Award; Jordan Jonker, a senior from Hudsonville, received the Entrepreneurship Management Award; Lauren Deneweth, a junior from Romeo, and Malcolm Hubbard, a senior from Farmington, both received the Entertainment, Sport & Promotion Management Award.

Amanda Watson, a senior from Oregon, OH, received the William T. Anderson Award; Matthew Kelly, a senior from Rochester, received The Zehnder’s of Frankenmuth Hospitality Award; Jeffrey Jagusch, a senior from Waukesha, WI, received the Automotive Aftermarket Management Award; Marc Confer, a senior from New Lothrop, received The  Ludwig Von Mises Award; Allysha Rose Najdowski, a senior from Manistee, received the Marketing Award; Michael Godschalx, a junior from Midland, received The Frederick T. Keeler Marketing Scholarship Award; Adam Dingman, a senior from Cedarville, received the Banking and Finance Award; Emalene Hamilton, a junior from Ithaca, received the Institute of Management Accountants Award; Krysta Timko, a senior from Cass City, received the Fashion Marketing and Management Award; Hayley Dahl, a senior from Midland, received The Robert M. Ellis Award; McKenzie Terwillegar, a freshman from Highland, and Kirk Longuski, a sophomore from Bay City, both received the Pi Kappa Delta Omicron Chapter Distinguished Competitive Speaker of the Year Award.

Lucas Wheeler, a junior from Caro, received the Northwood University Theatre Award; Tiffany Biro, a senior from Allen Park, received The Arts and Business Award; Willis Johnson, a junior from Jackson, and Joshua Allen, a junior from Rhodes, both received The Donald D. Burchard Journalism Award (for Yearbook and The Timberwolf Howl student newspaper respectively); Ryan Whittum, a senior from Livonia, and Blair Turner, a senior from Midland (male athletes), and Rachel Church, a student at the Richard DeVos Graduate School (female athlete), all received the David and Daniel Goetz Academic Athlete Award; and Aaron Cisco, a senior from Grosse Pointe Shores, received the Student Government Association Activities Award.


Northwood University is committed to the most personal attention to prepare students for success in their careers and in their communities; it promotes critical thinking skills, personal effectiveness, and the importance of ethics, individual freedom and responsibility.

Private, nonprofit, and accredited, Northwood University specializes in managerial and entrepreneurial education at three full-service, residential campuses located in southern Florida, mid-Michigan and northern Texas. Adult Degree Programs are available in eight states with many course delivery options including online. The DeVos Graduate School offers day, evening and weekend programming in Michigan, Texas and Florida. The Alden B. Dow Center for Creativity and Enterprise provides system-wide expertise in family enterprise, entrepreneurship, creativity and innovation, and new business development. International education is offered through study abroad and in Program Centers in Switzerland, China (Changchun and Wuxi), Malaysia and Sri Lanka.