Northwood University Knights Receive Champion of Character Award

Bookmark and Share
Red River Athletic Conference Names Champions of Character for Fall Sports

December 20, 2012

CEDAR HILL, Texas – Northwood University is honored to have 4 recipients of the Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) Champions of Character.  Student athletes were chosen for outstanding qualities in sportsmanship, leadership, respect, responsibility, and integrity as part of the NAIA Champions of Character program.

Northwood Recipients of the RRAC Champions of Character:

Men's Soccer

Blake Redus   

Women's Soccer

Katie Knapp    

Men's Cross Country

Peter Rodarte

Women's Cross Country

Cursty Hicks   

“Each of these splendid young student-athletes exhibits exemplary character both on and off the field,” commented Athletics Director, Jack Allday.  “Everything they do, and do not do, speaks to the highest standards of character.” Allday continued, “All of us in the Northwood Family are so fortunate that these men and women chose to be Knights.”


Northwood University is committed to the most personal attention to prepare students for success in their careers and in their communities; it promotes critical thinking skills, personal effectiveness, and the importance of ethics, individual freedom and responsibility.

Private, nonprofit, and accredited, Northwood University specializes in managerial and entrepreneurial education at three full-service, residential campuses located in southern Florida, mid-Michigan and northern Texas. Adult Degree Programs are available in eight states with many course delivery options including an online option. The DeVos Graduate School offers day, evening and weekend programming in Michigan, Texas, Florida and Switzerland. The Alden B. Dow Center for Creativity and Enterprise provides system-wide expertise in family enterprise, entrepreneurship, creativity and innovation, and new business development. International education is offered through study abroad and in Program Centers in Switzerland, China, Malaysia and Sri Lanka.