Northwood University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) Baccalaureate/Graduate Degree Board of Commissioners has also awarded Northwood University accreditation of its business programs.

About the Higher Learning Commission

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

About the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs

ACBSP Accredited   






Other Licensure and Approvals

Northwood University is also authorized to operate as a degree-granting institution in the following states:


Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833
(916) 431-6959

Illinois Board of Higher Education
431 East Adams, 2nd Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1404
(217) 782-2551

Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 573-1555

Northwood University is currently licensed by the Board of Regents of the State of Louisiana. The State Board of Regents renews licenses every two years. Licensed institutions have met minimal operational standards set forth by the state, but licensure does not constitute accreditation, guarantee the transferability of credit, nor signify that programs are certifiable by any professional agency or organization.

In Texas, Northwood University has, in addition to general approvals previously listed, these specific approvals:

  • Approved by the State of Texas as a not-for-profit corporation and an institution of higher learning, February 7, 1966.
  • Approved as provided under Sections 1776, Title 39, U.S. Code Veterans Administration in State of Texas, fall 1981.
  • Certificate of Authorization from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.


Online Programs:
National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement